skip to Main Content
+32 2 502 36 09

2018 Deans’ Convention

For Engineering Deans, Directors, Department Heads and Deputy Rectors.

27-29 May 2018 – 60 participants from 19 countries gathered for our 2018 ECED-ULD. This meeting was organised in cooperation with CESAER and NTNU in Trondheim and it was structured into three sessions, that reflect current hot topics in faculty management. Two sessions were dedicated to digitalisation and one to diversity. The format was similar as in previous years having youtube videos on the topics ahead of the conference and using those as a base for the discussion. We would like to thank to our keynote speakers, moderators, youtubers – see below and especially the organisers: Mads Nygård, Jorunn Søraas Sommervold, Kjell Tore Næsgaard and Roger Midtstraum. See the photos from the event.

Session 1: Digitalisation of Today and for Tomorrow

Moderator: Mads Nygård, Dean of Engineering Education, Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU), Norway

Rapporteur: Henrik Pedersen, Dean, Aalborg University (AAU), Denmark


  • Gernot Spiegelberg, Vice President, Siemens, Germany
  • Olav Bolland, Dean, Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU), Norway
  • Martin Mose Bentzen, Associate Professor, Technical University of Denmark (DTU), Denmark
  • Karen Sæbbø Osmundsen, PhD student, Norwegian School of Economics (NHH), Norway


  • Arlindo Oliveira, President of School of Engineering, University of Lisbon, Portugal – Keynote presentation
  • Jonas Gallenkämper, Secretary of Advisory Council, Association of German Engineers (VDI), Germany – Keynote presentation
  • Xavier Fouger, Senior Director, Dassault Systèmes, France
  • Jan Gulliksen, Vice President, Royal Institute of Technology (KTH), Sweden

Session 2: Digitalisation in Learning and Researching

Moderator: Martin Vigild, Senior Vice President, Technical University of Denmark, DTU

Rapporteur: Gerhard Müller, Vice President, Technical University of Munich (TU Munich), Germany


  • Carlos Cocovi Higueras, Continuous Improvement Lead, Philips Lighting, USA
  • Ulrik Juul Christensen, Chief Executive Officer, Area9 Lyceum, USA
  • Roger Midtstraum, Vice Dean, Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU), Norway
  • David Kofoed Wind, PhD Student, Technical University of Denmark (DTU), Denmark
  • Hans-Ulrich Heiss, Vice President, Technical University of Berlin (TU Berlin), Germany – Keynote presentation
  • Lars Kai Hansen, Section Head, Technical University of Denmark (DTU), Denmark – Keynote presentation


  • Alex Tarchini, Director, Mathworks, Italy
  • Mike Murphy, Director, Dublin Institute of Technology (DIT), Ireland

Session 3: Diversity and Dynamite

Moderator: Mike Hounslow, Vice President, University of Sheffield, England

Rapporteur: Calum MacKichan, Communication Officer, CESAER, Belgium


  • Bevlee Watford, Associate Dean, Virginia Tech, USA
  • Gülsün Saglamer, Former Rector, Istanbul Technical University (ITU), Turkey
  • Susanne Ihsen, Associate Professor, Technical University of Munich (TU Munich), Germany
  • Nomen Nescio, Professor, Technical University, Europe
  • Greet Langie, Vice Dean, Catholic University of Leuven (KU Leuven), Belgium
  • Mogens Rysholt Poulsen, Dean, Aalborg University (AAU), Denmark

2019 Deans’ Convention will be organised by KU Leuven in Belgium. We look forward to seeing you there!

Back To Top